Home > Devotional, Scripture > Psalm 84 – How Lovely Are Thy Dwelling Places

Psalm 84 – How Lovely Are Thy Dwelling Places

I am meditating on Psalm 84 this morning with the help of Johannes Brahms.  His German Requiem is impressive.  The first time I heard it was with the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra.  Movement 4 is Psalm 84, “How Lovely Are Thy Dwelling Places [Tabernacles].” This piece moved me completely–more than any of the others.  Serene.  Restful.  Contented.  All the troubles of my world melted away for a short time.

Using Luther’s translation of Psalm 84, Brahms brings these words to life with a breathtaking score.  Brahms’s personal story is a victory over physical and psychological abuse–one who understands personal loss.  This encourages me as I listen.  I hear the triumphant call and invitation to find a home in the Lord Jesus. Even the sparrow wants a place near Yahweh’s dwelling place,

Even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may have her young— a place near your altar

I found a You Tube video with the Philharmonic Orchestra playing Brahms “Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen.”  The way I like to listen is with my headphones.  And, since I see better with my eyes closed, I close my eyes and let the words of the psalmist and Brahms’ music wash over me. Here is the english translation:

How lovely are thy tabernacles,
O Lord of hosts!
My soul longs, yea, even faints
for the courts of the Lord:
my heart and my flesh cries out
for the living God.
Blessed are they that dwell in thy house:
they will always be praising thee. Psalm 84:1,2,4


Categories: Devotional, Scripture
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

