Home > Devotional > Monday of Holy Week

Monday of Holy Week

[In place of counseling posts, each day this week is devoted to the events of Holy Week.  Take any part of these events, prayers or the art and consider meditating on them.  Read and reflect with heart, soul, and mind.]

After the triumphal entry in Jerusalem on “Palm Sunday,”  Jesus later wept over Jerusalem and predicted her destruction (Luke 19:41-44).  He also made a brief visit to the temple and then went back to Bethany for the night. Jesus had been staying in Bethany since Friday night.
(John11:55-12:1).

(Painting by James Tissot, French, 1836-1902)

Monday Events (back to Jerusalem from Bethany, about 2 miles)

  • Cursing of the fig tree.  (Matthew 21:18-19, Mark 11:12-14)
  • Clearing of the Temple (Matthew 21:12-13, Mark 11:15-18, Luke 19:45-48)
  • Healing at the Temple (Matthew 21:14)
  • Praise of the Children. Healing in the Temple (Matthew 21:14-16)
  • Greeks wish to see Jesus (John 12:20-22)
  • Discourse on the necessity of the Son of Man’s being lifted up. (John 12:20-36)
  • Jesus hides from the people (John 12:36-50)
  • Back to Bethany for the night. (Matthew 21:17, Mark 11:19)

More than likely  the disciples would have purchased a lamb for Passover on this day which was to begin at twilight on Friday evening (Exodus 12:1-6.) There would be thousands of people purchasing a lamb from the marketplace. The disciples would then care for and observe it for defects for four days. Any defect would eliminate it from being able to serve as a Passover lamb. If it proved to be worthy, the one year old lamb would be sacrificed as a remembrance of God choosing to “pass- over” those who had the blood of the lamb applied to the entrance of their homes ( Exodus 12:1-14).

Old Testament Parallel
Isaiah 42.1-9 emphasizing the mission of our Servant, Jesus.

Psalm-Prayers

  • Let my mouth be full of your praise and your glory all the day long. Do not cast me off in my old age; forsake me not when my strength fails. Psalm 71:8–9
  • O LORD, my God, my Savior, by day and night I cry to you. Let my prayer enter into your presence. Psalm 88:1–2
  • Show me your ways, O LORD, and teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; in you have I trusted all the day long. Psalm 25:3–4
  • Deliverance belongs to the LORD.  Your blessing be upon your people! Psalm 3:8
Categories: Devotional
  1. Stephanie
    April 18, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Thanks, Lisa for these posts of meditation for this week. A wonderful way to end my day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

